Awards Ceremony 2011

CTC paid tribute to the outstanding success of our 2011 leavers during the College’s annual Awards Ceremony at the Croydon Park Hotel on Saturday 26 November. Students travelled from all parts of the country to attend the Ceremony and, as well as receiving their A level certificates, students were rewarded in a number of special categories including Subject Awards and Extra-Curricular Achievement. Before presenting the evening’s most prestigious prize, the MacCarthy Awards (awarded to students who had achieved 4 A/A* grades last summer), CTC’s Chair of Governors, Dr Christine Humfrey, spoke to everybody present about the tremendous achievements of all of our students and of the positive impact made by international students in the UK no matter how great the challenges they face. A selection of photographs from the evening can be viewed here.

If you wish to view all the photograps taken of the evening and download any of them you may view them by clicking here.You will then be prompted to our SkyDrive area.


 Subject Prize Winners

Accounting                                 Qianning Ong                                             

Art                                            Xi Xiong      

Biology                                      Mixayphone Bounvilay   

Chemistry                                  Watcharaphol Paritmongkol

Economics                                  Maksims Beluss              

English as a Foreign Language        Rui Xu        

English Literature                         Militsa Doneva

French                                       Ksenija Omelcenko

Further Mathematics                     Feifan Chen                                       

Geography                                  Anna Robakova

Government & Politics                   Raweewat Ruechai                    

History                                       Raweewat Ruechai         

ICT                                           Anum Shami

Law                                          Quynh Chau Dang                   

Mathematics                              Xi Xiong                                   

Physics                                     Annan Yang                                       

Pure Mathematics                       Thuy Linh Le                                               

Statistics                                  Jiajia Wang                                        


Outstanding Contribution                Adeline Lou

to College Life                              Angela Skrabaka


Extra-Curricular Awards:

Sports Prize Winners


Sportsmanship Award                         Myat Soe Maung            

Most Improved Player                         Michael Akinwotu          


Sportsmanship Award                         Ser Ying Tan

Most Improved Player                         Sher Ee Tan


Duke of Edinburgh Award                  

All-round contribution                         Hong Anh Nguyen

 Art Special Award                              Sichang Jia

Won joint first prize awarded by the Rector of the Royal College of Art in a Young Art competition


 College Magazine:                   

All-round contribution                         Rajesh Bhusal


The  McCarthy Award winners

First Name Last Name Student Nationality A level Grades University Destination
Timur Akhmetov KAZAKH A, A, A, A, A* Warwick
Ksenija Frolova LATVIAN A*, A, A, A*, Bath
Thi Thai Ha Nguyen VIETNAMESE A*, A*, A*, A*,  Cambridge
Kelvin Cheng Kah Wai MALAYSIAN A*, A*, A*, A* Glasgow
Quynh Chau Dang VIETNAMESE A*, A*, A*, A* LSE
Hiu Man Lau BRITISH A*, A*, A*, A* Imperial College Ldn
Watcharaphol Paritmongkol THAI A*, A*, A*, A* Oxford
Ser Ying Tan MALAYSIAN A*, A*, A*, A* Imperial College Ldn
Sher Ee Tan MALAYSIAN A*, A*, A*, A* Edinburgh
Cao Minh Nguyen VIETNAMESE A*, A*, A*, A tbc
Ha Nguyen Thu SLOVAKIAN A*, A*, A*, A LSE
Raweewat Ruechai THAI A, A*, A*, A* Edinburgh
Rui Xu CHINESE A, A*, A, A*,  LSE
Tianyuan Mao CHINESE A, A*, A, A*,  Imperial College Ldn
Lotanna Wilson Agu NIGERIAN A*, A*, A, A Imperial College Ldn
Mixayphone Bounvilay LAO A, A*, A*, A Warwick
Zhen JIANG CHINESE A, A*, A, A* Oxford
Adeline Lou Yi Wei MALAYSIAN A, A*, A*, A LSE
Dinh Hieu Nguyen VIETNAMESE A, A*, A, A* LSE
Phuong Thao Nguyen VIETNAMESE A, A*, A*, A University College, Ldn
Thi Thuy Duong Nguyen VIETNAMESE A, A, A*, A* LSE
huy Hoang Tran VIETNAMESE A, A*, A, A* City University London
Jia Jia Wang CHINESE A, A*, A, A* University College, Ldn
Yanping Yang CHINESE A, A, A*, A* Imperial College Ldn
Shuxiang Ye CHINESE A, A*, A, A* Imperial College Ldn
Cindy Eng Sing Yee MALAYSIAN A, A, A*, A Cardiff 
Hong Anh Nguyen VIETNAMESE A, A*, A, A University College, Ldn
Nikita Sapurovs LATVIAN A*, A, A, A University College, Ldn
Wenwen Xiao CHINESE A, A, A, A University College, Ldn
The MacCarthy Awards are presented to students who achieved at least 4 A*/A grades